Our history

Established 2011

The Centre was initially established as the Centre for School Leadership Learning and Development, committed to the provision of educational high quality programs, services and research that are of an international standard. In these ways the Centre would work to contribute to the ongoing development and improvement of educational leadership in the Northern Territory.

The Centre came to fruition as the product of a unique partnership agreement between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Northern Territory Department of Education (DoE).

The Centre was launched in August 2011, as part of the Faculty of Law, Education, Business and Arts at CDU and in 2011-2012 was located at both the Casuarina and Alice Springs campuses.

CSLLD Logo 2011

CSLLD Staff 2012

Advisory Board

The Centre was supported by an Advisory Board from 2011 to the end of 2013, chaired by the Director of Menzies School of Health Research. This was Professor Jonathan Carapetis from 2011 to 2012 and then his successor Professor Alan Cass in 2013. The Board comprised of representatives from DoE, CDU and the Association of Northern Territory School Educational Leaders. In late 2011 DoE made arrangements for a nominee from the Northern Territory Joint Council of Professional Teaching Associations to join the Board in 2012. These representatives were selected to help ensure the work of the Centre meets the leadership, learning and development needs of the school education workforce in the Northern Territory.


Professor Kathryn Moyle PhD, M.Ed, B.Ed, MACE was recruited as the Executive Director and Professor of Educational Leadership at the Centre in 2011. Her work was supported by a Senior Director, in this role served Denise Wilkowski, Graham Chadwick, Susan Bowden and Liz Veel. In 2014 the Executive Director role was abolished and the Centre became managed by Gary Fry in the role of Director. Prof. Moyle   Gary Fry and Prof. Peter Kell


The Centre established partnerships with numerous organisations to collaborate on future programs and research. This positioned the Centre to ensure that all programs offered were done so from an evidence base that only good, robust, local research can provide.
The Centre was established with a close relationship with Menzies and others to have a comprehensive approach to education that includes child development, healthy families, healthy communities and effective school leaders, giving children the best start for a healthy life.

Another tremendous asset to the Centre was the co-location of the Association of Northern Territory School Education Leaders. The President, Ms Maree Bredhauer, drew on her many years of principal experience and extensive networks in the Northern Territory.

In 2011 the Centre worked collaboratively with DoE and the Teacher Registration Board of the Northern Territory to support the transition to the National Professional Standard for Principals and the National Professional Standards for Teachers.

Refocussed 2014

The Centre became the Centre for School Leadership and was successfully restructured from the start of 2014 to transition wholly into CDU’s operating environment and integrating the Centre into the International Graduate Centre of Education (IGCE), located within the School of Education (SoE), as well as redefining the Centre’s service charter to focus more specifically around school leadership development. This included a focus exclusively toward the delivery and coordination of quality school leadership programs, dropping peripheral elements including a previously broadened research and publication element. This shift included an outsourcing of all five non-contestable DoE priority programs identified in the CSL’s 2014 Operating Agreement through an open tender process. 

CSL Staff 2014