CDU/NTG team nominated as a finalist in Chief Minister’s Awards

17 December 2008

Rachael Shanahan and Janet Russell (Secretariat from CDU) displaying their finalist certificate.Congratulations to the team from the Charles Darwin University/Northern Territory Government Partnership Agreement from both Department of the Chief Minister and Charles Darwin University for being nominated as a finalist in Chief Minister’s Awards for Excellence in the Public Sector 2008.

The Department of the Chief Minister’s sole nomination for the 2008 Chief Minister's Awards for Excellence in the Public Sector, the Northern Territory Government/ Charles Darwin University Partnership, was awarded as one of three finalists in the Cross Government Collaboration Category.

While not winning the category, which went to the Aboriginal Interpreter Service collaboration run by the Department of Local Government and Housing and Centrelink, recognition of the CDU/NTG Partnership as one of three finalists is a great achievement, particularly in a year where over 50 nominations were received for the awards.

A presentation dinner for the awards night was held at the Crowne Plaza on Wednesday 3 December.  Representating the Department were Ken Davies, Alastair Shields, Rachael Shanahan, Jim Laouris, Jean Rodricks and Jan Wilschefski.  Janet Russell, Special Projects Leader, Office of the Vice Chancellor and Professor Charles Webb,  Deputy-Vice Chancellor Teaching and Learning at Charles Darwin University also represented the Partnership team on the night.

The Policy Coordination and Implementation team are to be congratulated for a job well done in establishing and driving the partnership to achieve real outcomes for the Territory.  This includes those staff who have worked on the CDU/NTG Partnership directly, including Anne Coleman, Jean Rodricks, Rachael Shanahan, Nuala Murphy, Sarah O’Rourke, Fiona Justin and Alastair Shields, and others indirectly, including Ken Davies, Dave Malone, Jim Laouris and Leon Morris.

For more information about the awards please visit


Key objectives

  1. Economic Development
  2. Social and Cultural Development
  3. Environmentally Sustainable Development

About the partnership

The Partnership Agreement provides for the economic and social development of the Northern Territory to be supported by a robust and resilient University working in partnership with government agencies and the wider community to contribute to education, research, policy development and program delivery.