2008 Chief Minister’s study scholarships for women

13 May 2008

The Chief Minister’s Study Award for Women (the Award) was introduced in 2001 to encourage women to undertake education and training to enhance their employment and general life outcomes.

In August 2007 a recommendation for the Award to be managed by Charles Darwin University/Northern Territory Government under the terms of the Charles Darwin University Partnership Agreement, Schedule 3, Learning Environments was endorsed by the former Chief Minister, Clare Martin and the Minister for Women’s Policy, Marion Scrymgour.

A Memorandum of Understanding was drawn up between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Northern Territory Government to transfer administration prior to commencement of the 2008 academic year. With the transfer the name was changed to reflect that in future it will be a scholarship rather than an award.

The new title is the Chief Minister’s Study Scholarships for Women.

There are three scholarships (one higher education and two VET) offered to women enrolled at CDU and Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Technology.

One recipient will receive the Chief Minister’s Higher Education Study Scholarship for Women to the value of $15,000 over three years full-time or six years part-time subject to satisfactory academic progress.

The recipient will also receive a laptop computer to aid in her studies, valued at $1,200.

Two recipients will receive the Chief Minister’s Vocational, Education and Training Study Scholarship for Women to the value of $2,000 for one year full-time or two years part-time subject to satisfactory academic progress.

The 2008 successful scholarships recipients are:

  1. Ms Diane Stall (Darwin), $15,000 to study for a Bachelor of Teaching and Learning at Charles Darwin University;
  2. Ms Joanne Shadforth (Darwin), $2,000 to study for a Certificate IV in Finance at Charles Darwin University; and
  3. Ms Millington-Flay (Darwin), $2,000 to study for a Certificate IV in Business (Human Resources) at Charles Darwin University.

The Chief Minister, Paul Henderson will be awarding the scholarships to the 2008 recipients at the CDU Awards Night ceremony on the 21 May, 2008.

Key objectives

  1. Economic Development
  2. Social and Cultural Development
  3. Environmentally Sustainable Development

About the partnership

The Partnership Agreement provides for the economic and social development of the Northern Territory to be supported by a robust and resilient University working in partnership with government agencies and the wider community to contribute to education, research, policy development and program delivery.