Senior executives

Vice-Chancellor Professor Simon Maddocks

Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Simon Maddocks became President and Vice-Chancellor of Charles Darwin University in March 2014. Professor Maddocks has extensive leadership experience at senior levels of both academia and government.

 Professor Sue Carthew

Provost and Vice-President

Professor Sue Carthew (BSc PhD) was appointed to the position of Provost and Vice-President in July 2016. Previously Professor Carthew was the Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Faculty of Engineering, Health, Science & the Environment at Charles Darwin University.

Andrew Everett

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President Global Strategy and Advancement

Mr Everett has worked in senior university positions in international engagement for over 15 years. Also, he has provided consultation services to universities, government and the school's sector regarding international education and training.

professor bogdan dlugogorski

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President Research and Innovation

Professor Bogdan Dlugogorski is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President, Research and Innovation at Charles Darwin University. He is a Chartered Engineer and a Chartered Chemist with a distinguished record as a researcher, inventor and academic leader.


Meredith Parry

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President Operations

Meredith Parry is Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President Operations. Ms Parry has worked both in the vocational and higher education sectors for 25 years.

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Faculty of Vocational Education and Training

Ashar Ehsan is the Acting Pro Vice-Canchellor responsible for the Faculty of Vocational Education and Training (VET)


Steve Shanahan

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Higher Education


Dr Steve Shanahan is the Pro Vice-Chancellor for Higher Education (PVC-HE) responsible for the six Colleges of the University.


Pro Vice-Chancellor, Education Strategy 


Professor Robert Fitzgerald is Pro Vice-Chancellor, Education Strategy at Charles Darwin University overseeing excellence and innovation in learning and teaching.



Professor Philip Seltsikas is the Pro Vice-Chancellor Student Engagement and Success at Charles Darwin University. Professor Seltsikas is an internationally recognised tertiary education professional with extensive leadership experience across a broad range of portfolio areas.

 Anne Coulter

Chief Financial Officer

Ms Anne Coulter is the Chief Financial Officer.

The role of the Chief Financial Officer is to oversee the Office of Financial Services and the Office of Procurement Services.