Charles Darwin University
enews home

Government announces New Colombo Plan grants

A group of CDU law students visiting the Anti-Corruption Agency in Jakarta A group of CDU law students visiting the Anti-Corruption Agency in Jakarta

Charles Darwin University is one of 37 universities that will have students live, study and work in the Indo-Pacific region during the second year of the Australian Government’s New Colombo Plan.

Foreign Minister the Hon Julie Bishop and Education Minister the Hon Christopher Pyne announced around 3150 undergraduate students would be supported by the New Colombo Plan mobility round for 2015.

CDU will receive funding totalling $153,000 for three projects that support student mobility to China, India and Indonesia.

“The expansion of the New Colombo Plan in 2015 reflects the strong support of partner governments for the plan’s aims of lifting knowledge of the region in Australia and for the plan to become a ‘rite of passage’ for Australian undergraduate students,” Ms Bishop said.

“The continued strong interest of students in gaining first-hand experience of business in the region will ensure they are well placed to make a valuable contribution to the regional engagement of our business community and to driving economic growth in Australia and our region in the years ahead.”

Mr Pyne said New Colombo Plan mobility grants were awarded to Australian universities to support their students to undertake semester-long or short-term study in the region.

“These grants will support students to study at a university overseas for anywhere from a few weeks to a full semester,” Mr Pyne said.

“The grants cover study, practicums, clinical placements, internships and mentorships, and short-term research across a broad array of disciplines.”

The government has committed $100 million in new funding over five years to implement the New Colombo Plan. In 2014 a total of 31 CDU School of Law students completed two-week study programs in law in Indonesia at the University Indonesia in Jakarta, Gadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta and Udayana University in Denpasar. The intensive study programs focused on Intellectual Property Law, International Organised Crime and Transnational Criminal Law.