Issue 5
Monday, 06 July 2020
Charles Darwin University
From left: Outstanding achievers Qi Zhenyu and Brittany Hayward-Brown
From left: Outstanding achievers Qi Zhenyu and Brittany Hayward-Brown

College salutes top students

COVID-19 may have forced the cancellation of “the event” but it did not stop the College of Engineering, IT and Environment from celebrating their high achieving students recently.

Among the award winners was Bachelor of Science graduate Brittany Hayward-Brown, who won the Chief Minister’s Award for outstanding achievement by a science graduand, and the GHD Award for outstanding achievement in the Organisms and Environmental Change unit.

Now an environmental scientist while undertaking an Ecology Honours degree, Brittany said that studying at CDU had given her unique opportunities that she could not have had anywhere else.

"I am grateful to all the people who helped me to get to where I am. Their support, and these awards, are incredibly motivating and inspire me to continue working hard,” Brittany said.

Another two-time winner was Qi Zhenyu, who won the Steel Reinforcement Institute of Australia Award for outstanding achievement in Design of concrete structures and the GHD Award for water engineering.

“I am flattered. The award is an inspiration showing that to pursue a career in civil and structural engineering was absolutely the right decision for me,” Qi said.

The College recognises that reward for academic excellence delivers immediate and long-term benefits to the student and to the community. 

The winners were:


Chief Minister’s Award for Science – Brittany Hayward-Brown

GHD Award – Brittany Hayward-Brown

Department of Environment and Natural Resources Award – Kelly Jackson

Power and Water Award – Helen Truscott

CSIRO Award – Erica Smith

NT Geological Survey Award – Jess Randall

Environmental Institute of Australia and New Zealand Award – Paul Revie

Royal Australian Chemical Institute Award – Ben Smith

Inspiring Australia NT Award – Matilda Lyons


Engineers Australia Ambassador Award – Krishna Arya Valadian

GHS Award – Sammith Hitthara

WSP Award – Joshua Ting

Steel Reinforcement Institute of Australia Award – Qi Zhenyu

GHD Award – Qi Zhenyu

IEEE Award – Martin Grahl

The Institution of Engineering and Technology Award – Shannon Kieran

Wallbridge and Gilbert Award – Damian Volker