Issue 20
Monday, 20 November 2017
Charles Darwin University
Award winner Matt Garrick with event MC Lisa Pellegrino
Award winner Matt Garrick with event MC Lisa Pellegrino

Awards recognise journalistic talent

By Leanne Miles

A journalist who probed the 2016 NT election results has been recognised for his prose and remarkable insight, at the 2017 Northern Territory Media Awards.

CDU sponsors the Best Feature Writing category at the pre-eminent Territory-based awards that promote journalistic excellence across print, broadcast and digital media platforms.

In the hotly contested field, NT News journalist Matt Garrick took out the award for his piece “The Great Divide”, which took an in-depth look at the 2016 election results.

“I became fascinated watching the votes from some of the tight Territory election races roll in last year,” Mr Garrick said.

“With Deputy Chief Minister Lynne Walker beaten by a handful of postal votes and sitting Chief Minister Adam Giles booted out of the CLP's heartland in Alice Springs by a first time pollie, I wanted to dig into the reasons behind these incredible upsets.”

He worked to find out more about the triggers for voters and what the sweeping changes might mean for the Territory's social and political landscape.

“There is never a dull moment in terms of political intrigue in the Territory, and it was an amazing opportunity to be able to turn my hand at writing about it,” he said.

“I am grateful to CDU for seeing the need to support feature writing in the Territory, and feel very lucky to have received the award. I would also like to thank the judges and my colleagues at NT News for their support.”

Other finalists included Guardian Australia journalist Helen Davidson, who was highly commended for her wide-ranging “Body of work – the good, the bad, and the unusual”, Kieran Banks from the NT News for “Attacks on our protectors”, and Hayley Sorensen, also from the NT News for her “Body of work”.