Charles Darwin University
enews home

INPEX contribution recognised

By Leanne Coleman

CDU Vice-Chancellor Professor Simon Maddocks and INPEX Corporation President Toshiaki Kitamura CDU Vice-Chancellor Professor Simon Maddocks and INPEX Corporation President Toshiaki Kitamura

The contribution of INPEX to Charles Darwin University was officially recognised recently when INPEX Corporation President Toshiaki Kitamura visited Casuarina campus.

The delegation from Japan met with CDU Vice-Chancellor Professor Simon Maddocks, Chancellor Her Honour the Honourable Sally Thomas AC and senior staff to tour the campus facilities including the North Australian Centre for Oil and Gas (NACOG).

Chancellor Sally Thomas welcomed the delegation members, who were presented with two artworks from the Northern Editions printmaking studio in recognition of their important contribution to the university.

The prints were produced by two renowned Indigenous artists Ita Tipungwuti and Nina Puruntatameri in 2010 as part of a group of Tiwi artists’ first foray into Japanese-style woodblock printmaking during workshops with Master Printmaker Jacqueline Gribbin. The workshops culminated in “Tiwi Shima”, meaning Island in Japanese, an exhibition that toured Canberra and Japan to celebrate the combined creative printmaking talents of artists across the Tiwi Islands.

Ms Gribbin, who lived and worked in Japan for 11 years in the 1990s, returned in 2012 to build on her traditional Japanese woodblock mokuhanga technique, and continues to collaborate with Indigenous printmakers and artists throughout the Territory.

The technique, which does not require a press or chemicals and uses water-based paints or natural pigments has been complemented by many Indigenous artists' tradition of wood carving and use of natural ochres.

While on campus the delegation visited the state-of-the-art teaching and training facilities at NACOG. The facility was built with support from the NT Government and the oil and gas industry through INPEX, Total and other participants in the Ichthys LNG Project Joint Venture.