Issue 4
Monday, 10 April 2017
Charles Darwin University
Dr Adelle Sefton-Rowston
Dr Adelle Sefton-Rowston

Write on for 2017 literary awards

By Andrew Hall

Higher Education Teaching Lecturer and two-time award winner Dr Adelle Sefton-Rowston says anyone with a story to tell should enter this year’s Northern Territory Literary Awards.

Dr Sefton-Rowston, who won the Charles Darwin University Essay Award in 2015 and 2016, is a member of Palmerston’s Own Writers group and vice-president of the NT Writers’ Centre.

“We have a very collegial and supportive network of writers in the Darwin area and the wider Northern Territory,” she said.

“I’ve heard (Melbourne-based author) Sophie Cunningham say there are more writers per capita in Alice Springs than in the whole of Australia.”

A pool of more than $5000 in prizes across seven categories is on offer in the 2017 awards.

CDU is a principal partner of the annual event and provides $500 for the Creative Non-Fiction Award and $1000 for the Essay Award.

In addition to cash prizes winners will receive an NT Writers’ Centre membership and a voucher to attend a masterclass of their choosing.

Dr Sefton-Rowston said she received a letter from the Chief Minister’s office last year that said more than 300 writers had entered the 2016 awards.

“I hope there will be more this year,” she said.

The other award categories are: short story, poetry, youth, fiction, and theatre.

Entries can be submitted until midnight 14 May.

For more information visit W: