Charles Darwin University
enews home

NT literary talent awarded

By Leanne Coleman

CDU's Dr Kavita Nandan presents Dr Tom Lewis with the Charles Darwin University Essay Award CDU's Dr Kavita Nandan presents Dr Tom Lewis with the Charles Darwin University Essay Award

Wordsmiths were abound at the Territory’s literary night of nights recently where the winners of the 2014 Charles Darwin University Essay Award and Bookshop Travel Short Story Award were announced.

The awards were part of the annual Northern Territory Literary Awards, which help to encourage and reward Territory writers of varying ages and backgrounds, from novice to experienced authors. This year’s winners were selected from a record field of 420 entries from unpublished writers across the Territory.

Barbara Eather took home the Charles Darwin University Travel Short Story Award for “Great Wall Bad Idea” and Dr Tom Lewis won the Charles Darwin University Essay Award for “The Myth of Government Cover-up in the first Darwin Raids”.

CDU Head of the School of Creative Arts and Humanities, Professor Martin Jarvis said the University was delighted to partner with the Northern Territory Library as the major sponsor to support the development and expansion of the NT Literary Awards.

“With our new literature courses now under way, CDU continues to nurture and support writers in all genres, “Professor Jarvis said. “It is a great opportunity for local writers to expand and develop their skills, to one day become professional writers and published authors as well as encourage a passion for literature.”

Professor Jarvis said the awards also provided a valuable pathway by which CDU students and staff could engage with and be recognised within literary and academic circles.

The annual NT Literary Awards encourage the telling of stories that reflect who we are, and contribute to the recognition of literature’s importance to our identity, community and economy.

The winners were announced during a recent ceremony at Parliament House. For more information and the full list of winners and finalists visit: