Charles Darwin University
enews home

Nominations open to award NT young achievers

Emerging artist Joshua Bonson was the 2014 CDU Arts Award winner Emerging artist Joshua Bonson was the 2014 CDU Arts Award winner

Nominations are open for the Northern Territory Young Achiever Awards, which acknowledge, encourage and promote the positive achievements of young Territorians.

Minister for Young Territorians, Peter Styles officially launched the awards on Casuarina campus alongside the Administrator of the Northern Territory, Her Honour the Honourable Sally Thomas AC. Mr Styles said the awards were a great way to celebrate the hard work of young Territorians.

“We are calling for nominations for the most outstanding young Territorians making an extraordinary difference in their community,” he said.

“Young people all over the Northern Territory are achieving quietly and it is our duty to recognise individuals who strive to make a real difference.”

Faculty of Law, Education, Business and Arts Pro Vice-Chancellor, Professor Giselle Byrnes said CDU was proud once again to be the Patron for the Arts Award.

“The Arts Award acknowledges the spirit of creativity and the energy and drive our young people show within the arts whether that is through such fields as creative arts, visual arts, dance, theatre, or photography,” Professor Byrnes said.

A new category has been added this year to recognise young Indigenous educators.

The awards are open to all young people aged between 14 and 27 years old in the following categories: 
* The Minister for Young Territorians Excellence in Youth Leadership Award
* The Northern Territory Government Small Business Achievement Award
* The Northern Territory Government Young Carer’s Award
* The Northern Territory Government Young Indigenous Educator Award
* The Australian Super Career Kick Starter Award
* The Charles Darwin University Arts Award
* The Glencore McArthur River Mining Regional and Rural Initiative Award
* The Conoco Phillips Environmental Award
* The Sommerville Community Service Award
* The PTTEP Australasia Health and Wellbeing Award
* The Genesee and Wyoming Australia Indigenous Achievement Award
* The Zip Print Sports Award

To nominate visit W: or phone 1300 735 445 for more information. 

Nominations close November 28 2014, with winners announced in Darwin on April 11 2015.