



CDU-NTG Partnership Agreement – Collaboration Committees

Terms of Reference

The purpose of the Charles Darwin University (CDU) — Northern Territory Government (NT Government) Partnership Agreement is to strengthen the existing relationship between CDU and the NT Government by identifying common strategic objectives in the areas of education, research, community engagement, capacity building, industry development, and social inclusion.

The Agreement recognises the importance of a mutually beneficial and collaborative relationship between CDU and the NT Government for the Northern Territory. It provides a useful framework for Government agencies to work with the university.

Governance Structure

The aim of the governance structure is to reduce red tape, allow for targeted meetings with relevant NT Government agency and CDU officer and minimise reporting requirements. The struture will also support the development of the Education and Community Precinct and CDU's broader Campus Strategy, developed in response to the Darwin City Deal.

The Campus Strategy supports growing student numbers, greater research outreach and align's the institutional infrastructure to CDU's Strategic Plan. Five priority areas have been identified and are reflected in the five Collaboration Committees:

- Business and industry
- Social and Public Policy
- Environment and Natural Resource Management
- Health
- Education and VET.

Objectives

The objectives of the Collaboration Committees will be to:

- identify emerging issues and opportunities for both the NT Government and CDU
- identify potential areas for collaboration (concentrating on existing programs and deliverables rather than programs requiring additional resources)
- enhance partnerships and connections between CDU and the NT Government to:
 - o facilitate engagement between CDU and NT Government agencies at a senior level
 - o investigate potential sharing of staff and resources
 - contribute to the continued expansion of resident intellectual capacity throughout the Northern Territory
- create working groups as required and maintain oversight of the specific priority area and work being undertaken by work groups.





Resources/Budget

- Each Collaboration Committees has no operational budget. It will at the discretion of the membership of the Collaboration Committee to determine the requirement and source of any funding requirements.
- Support will initially be provided by the Coordination Team, however it will at the discretion of the Collaboration Committee to develop appropriate secretariat support.

Governance

- Meetings will be Co chaired between CDU and the NT Government
- Meetings will be held at least bi-annually (with an option to schedule more frequent meetings if required)
- All Co-chairs will meet prior to each Executive Committee meeting
- Collaboration Committees will report to the Executive Committee and provide a brief update of activity for each Executive Committee meeting.

Scope

The Collaboration Committees are strategic groups and not responsible for project delivery and should not assume responsibilities that would otherwise lie with NT Government agencies or CDU.

The Collaboration Committees form working groups or other structures (such as a Steering or Coordination group) to deliver projects. The structure of any working group should be flexible in order to meet changing requirements.

A Collaboration Committee may develop an MOU between CDU and a particular NT Government agency or have several different working groups, depending on the work program.

The working groups may have one or multiple NTG Government agencies and CDU colleges represented.

Membership

Membership of Collaboration Committees:

- will be established and changed by the Executive Committee, depending on identified strategic objectives
- will be relevant Executive Directors and Directors from the NT Government and CDU officers
- should have equal numbers of CDU and NT Government members where possible
- will be reviewed annually by the Executive Committee.