Skip to main content

CDU Menzies School of Medicine

Strategic Advisory Board

The Strategic Advisory Board has been established to advise the CDU Menzies School of Medicine on matters relating to the development of a new medical program at CDU and to advocate for its funding and establishment.

Within this context, the board’s responsibilities include:

  • providing advice on strategy, potential partners and appropriate curriculum to the School of Medicine on the design of a medical program that is fit-for-purpose for the Northern Territory and northern Australia more broadly
  • being a strong advocate, on behalf of the School, with key stakeholders and decision-makers in the NT and nationally, for an NT Medical Program that is delivered by the CDU Menzies School of Medicine
  • assisting with the development of strategic collaborative arrangements that will support the School's mission.


Mr John Paterson | CE, Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory (AMSANT)

Dr Sam Goodwin | Executive Director of Medical & Clinical Services Alice Springs Hospital

Dr Jeremy Chin | Co-Director, Children and Youth Health Services Darwin/Palmerston Hospitals

Professor Bart Currie | Physician, RDH and Menzies School of Health Research (Menzies)

Dr John Boffa | Chief Medical Officer Public Health, Central Australia Aboriginal Congress

Adjunct Professor Jo Norton | Deputy Chief Executive, Department of Health, NTG

Associate Professor Marco Briceno | Chief Medical Officer

Dr Kiarna Brown | Obstetrician and Gynaecologist Royal Darwin Hospital/Menzies

Pat Anderson AO | Chair, Council, Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education


Professor Len Notaras AO | Executive Director, NCCTRC

Ms Donna Ah Chee | CEO, Central Australia Aboriginal Congress

CDU and Menzies members

Professor Di Stephens OAM | Foundation Dean, School of Medicine

Professor Alan Cass AO | Director, Menzies School of Health Research

Professor Dominic Upton | Pro Vice-Chancellor, Faculty of Health