Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags

Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture

The Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture commemorates the Wave Hill Station walk-off led by Vincent Lingiari with his Gurindji people and other groups in August 1966 – a significant act by those involved as it was a catalyst for Aboriginal people, not only in the Northern Territory but across Australia, to have their rights to traditional lands recognised and for those lands to be returned.

The Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lectures, established in 1996, have included presentations by Sir William Deane (1996), Gough Whitlam (1997), Galarrwuy Yunupingu (1998), Patrick Dodson (1999), Malcolm Fraser (2000), Brian Manning (2002), Linda Burney MP (2006), The Honorable Fred Chaney AO and Associate Professor Sue Stanton (2007), Kev Carmody (2008), Joe Neparrŋa Gumbula and Associate Professor Gracelyn Smallwood (2009), Megan Davis (2010), Professor Marcia Langton (2011), Dr. Chris Sarra (2012) and Sir Tipene O’Regan (2014).

17th Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture (2017)

Ms Pat Anderson AO delivered the 17th Annual Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture at Charles Darwin University on Wednesday, 16 August 2017. Read more.

Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture archives

Charles Darwin Univeristy became the sole custodians of the Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture in 2007.  Transcripts and/or recordings from 2007 to the present are currently available below.

A project is currently underway to locate and preserve the complete Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture collection from various archives holding material from the inaugural 1996 lecture onwards. Once completed, it will be accessible here.

Open all | Close all

2007 - 2016