CDU wins prestigious trainer of year award


Associate Professor Steve Shanahan ...

Associate Professor Steve Shanahan ... "Excellence among our trainers and support staff."

Charles Darwin University has won the prestigious NT Training Provider of the Year award at the 60th annual NT Training Awards in Darwin.

Three Charles Darwin University students also won individual awards, including Katherine-based electrotechnology electrical apprentice Taylor Fishlock, who won the Austin Asche Apprentice of the Year award.

Acting Pro Vice-Chancellor VET Associate Professor Steve Shanahan said it was a great honour for the university to have been recognised for demonstrating outstanding achievement in the delivery of vocational education and training.

“As the deliverer of some 220 qualifications, we knew we were the biggest training provider in the NT, but it’s highly rewarding to also be recognised as the best,” he said.

“Our staff delivered about 2.8 million curriculum hours of training and assessment and trained more than 12,500 students, apprentices and trainees last year.

“The award reflects the excellence among our trainers and support staff who provide CDU with the capacity to deliver high-quality, nationally recognised education qualifications to students in the Northern Territory and throughout our region.

“I congratulate my VET colleagues for their professionalism and commitment for having sustained a high level of excellence, often in the face of ongoing external challenges.”

Dr Shanahan also congratulated CDU students Taylor Fishlock, Philadelphia Hughes and Raymond Fordimail, all individual category winners, who now advance to the Australian Training Awards in Hobart in November.

“These three winners, plus Hayley Statham who was runner-up in her category, and several others who were finalists, exemplify what’s possible when you combine quality, effort and opportunity,” he said.

Charles Darwin University at the NT Training Awards:

Organisation category

Trainer Provider of the Year winner – Charles Darwin University.

Individual categories

Austin Asche Apprentice of the Year winner – Taylor Fishlock, Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrical. Finalist – Deborah Trebilcock, Certificate III in Retail Baking.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year winner – Philadelphia Hughes, Certificate IV in Frontline Management. Finalist – Zachery Cork, Certificate III in Business Administration.
Vocational Student of the Year runner up – Melissa Bridge, Certificate III and IV in Fitness. Finalist – Anke Pfannkuchen, Certificate III and IV in Fitness;
School-based Apprentice of the Year winner – Raymond Fordimail, Certificate III in Business. Runner up – Hayley Statham, Certificate III in Business.
VET in Schools Student of the Year finalists – Caitlin Riedel, Certificate III in Media; Chad Robinson, Certificate II in Business.
VET Teacher / Trainer of Year finalist – Margaret Keighley, business trainer.

Contact us

Media and Communications
Casuarina campus
Orange 12.3.20