Professor Martin Jarvis

Director of CDU Confucius Institute

Professor Martin Jarvis' work in music education is highly regarded in the Northern Territory. Well known in the wider community as the creator of the Darwin Symphony Orchestra, he brings than 35 years of industry experience to the School Creative Arts and Humanities.

Professor Jarvis' muscial life started at the age of 14. His dedication to his craft has enabled him to travel the world with several orchestra, which also gave him the opportunity to study under many prestigous musicians.

After completing music education he moved to Darwin and joined CDU. He teaches viola, violin, conducting, and lectures in both ‘Modernity’ and ‘Creative Practice’, as well as artistically directing the Darwin Symphony Orchestra.

Professor Jarvis has won awards for his contibution to the Australian culture in particular the Northern Territory. His creativity and dedication led to the introduction of outdoor symphonies in remote locations, the first of its kind in the NT. One notable performance was the award-winning event on a floating pontoon in Katherine Gorge.

Research interests

Current research and publications in preparation

  • Working title – ‘The Darwin Symphony Orchestra - A personal history’ (for publication in 2013)
  • Working title –‘The Cyclic Scale System for String Players’ 
  • Working title – ‘If Music Be The Food - a history of musical and culinary art’ (early research stage)


2012, The Transmission and Filiations of the Six Cello Suites, Stringendo, Journal of the Australian String Association , Refereed
2011 ‘Written By Mrs Bach’ monograph HarperCollins ABC Books
2011 ‘A Forensic Handwriting Examination of Manuscripts attributed to J S and A M Bach’ International Graphonomics Society Conference Proceedings
2011 ‘The influence of the use of a quill pen on a scribe’s ability to accurately copy a music manuscript’ International Graphonomics Society Conference Proceedings
2011 ‘Who wrote the Cello Suites?’ Limelight ABC Publications
2011 ‘The Case of Mrs Bach’ book chapter ‘Cold Case Files’ by Liz Porter Macmillan, Australia
2010, An Investigation of the Music-calligraphy of Johann Sebastian and Anna Magdalena Bach’ Journal of Forensic Document Examination, USA
2008, ‘The 1720 Autograph – is it what it appears to be?’, Stringendo, Journal of the Australian String Association , Refereed (as per Ulrich)
2008, ‘The Application of Forensic Document Examination Techniques to the Writings of J. S. Bach and A. M. Bach’, Understanding Bach, 3 (2008), 87-92.
2007, ‘Retrogressive Concatenation – a possible solution for players with memory worries’ – Australian Clarinet & Saxophone
2007, ‘Is Anna Magdalena’s Manuscript of the Violin Sonatas & Partitas a copy of the ‘1720 Autograph’?, Stringendo, Journal of the Australian String Association, Refereed (as per Ulrich)
2007, ‘Letter to Libby’ Early Music Review, UK


  • 2009 Australian Council for Educational Leadership (ACEL) Service to Education Award “For services to education and music”
  • 2007, Order of Australia OAM “For service to the arts as the founder, artistic director and conductor of the Darwin Symphony Orchestra, and to music education”

Professor Martin Jarvis


T: 8946 6582
F: 8946 6540

Charles Darwin University
Darwin NT 0909