CDU Home | About CDU | Courses | Faculties & Schools | Learning & Teaching | Library | Campuses & Centres | Media | Contact Us                              Learnline Login

Work Health and Safety

Health and Safety Representatives

Health and Safety Representatives

Health and Safety Representatives (HSRs) at CDU form an integral part in the process of consultation with and representation of employees on health and safety matters. 

HSRs are elected by the employees of the respective Work Group (WG) for a term of three years. An NT WorkSafe approved five-day HSR course (through external RTO) is available to elected HSRs. If you are an elected HSR and wish to undertake HSR training, contact SEW on 6494 or email

The following Work Groups are currently established at the University:

  • Alice Springs campus Work Group (WG) including Tennant Creek and Yulara
  • Katherine campus WG including Jabiru
  • Palmerston campus WG
  • Casuarina campus Blue precinct WG
  • Casuarina campus Brown precinct WG
  • Casuarina campus Green precinct WG
  • Casuarina campus Orange precinct WG
  • Casuarina campus Pink precinct WG
  • Casuarina campus Purple precinct [HE] non-trades WG
  • Casuarina campus Purple precinct [VET] Trades WG including Nhulunbuy campus
  • Casuarina campus Red precinct WG
  • Casuarina campus Yellow precinct WG

Representing the employees of their Work Group on health and safety matters, the role of a HSR includes:

  • making enquiries into OHS issues
  • raising OHS issues on behalf of employees with management
  • assisting in the consultation process on OHS matters
  • assisting employees and management with the resolution of OHS issues.

Please note that a HSR is not responsible for OHS at the workplace. 

The primary responsibility for providing and maintaining OHS at the workplace rests with the University through its supervisors and managers.

If you would like to discuss an OHS issue affecting your workplace, contact Safety, Emergency and Wellbeing on ext 6494 or email


Jade Kurray
Alice Springs
T: 8946 6753
Location: Alice Springs 4.1.1 Drew Harper


Rob Buttery
Casuarina campus Pink precinct
T: 8946 7454
Location: Pink 9.2.24


John Zelley
Katherine Work Group
Katherine R/C
T: 8973 9919


Ty Lee
Palmerston campus Work Group
T: 08 894 67838
Location: Palmerston


Matile Phillips
Casuarina campus Brown precinct
T: 8946 6700
Location: Brown 1.1


Deborah Blaser
Casuarina campus Orange Precinct
T: 8946 7162
Location: Orange 1.1


Philip Kiragu
Casuarina campus Pink precinct
T: 8946 6394
Location: Pink 3.1.26


Hemangi Surti
Casuarina campus Purple (non-trades) Precinct
T: 8946 6373
Purple 12.1


Ramya Ramamoorthi
Casuarina campus Yellow Precinct
T: 8946 7786
Yellow 2.2.59



Further information about Work Groups and HSRs can be found at NT WorkSafe.

Copyright and Disclaimer | ABN 54 093 513 649 | CRICOS Provider No: 00300K(NT) | CRICOS Provider No: 03286A (NSW) | RTO Provider No: 0373