Honorary Awards

Governance services

Honorary Awards and Honours Conferred

The Council of the University is empowered under the Charles Darwin University Act to be able to award honorary degrees and titles.  Honorary awards and titles have been presented to distinguished people who have made a significant contribution to the community or to the University. 

The Honorary Awards Policy was instituted to guide the decision-making process.  The Nominations, Honorary Awards and Legislation Committee reviews all nominations for honorary awards and makes a recommendation to Council.  

Honorary awards are normally presented at a Graduation Ceremony.

Open all | Close all

Doctor of Arts

Doctor of Economics

Doctor of Education

Doctor of Laws

Doctor of Letters

Doctor of Science

Doctor of the University

Companion of the University

Award of Emeritus Professor

Award of Emeritus Chancellor