Skip to main content
Start of main content

Learning and Teaching

External regulators


TEQSA is the national regulatory body for higher education established under the Tertiary Education Quality Standards Act 2011 (TEQSA Act) and is responsible for assuring the quality and standards of the sector.

TEQSA register and evaluate providers against the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021 (HESF). All higher education providers must meet these Standards to enter and remain within Australia’s higher education system.

There are seven Domains to the HESF, and the following links provide an overview of their scope and intent:

CDU is registered as an Australian University and has  Self-Accrediting Authority by TEQSA to accredit its higher education courses. Our TEQSA provider ID is PRV12069.

Renewal of registration

Registration date:  22/01/2021
Registration renewal date:  22/01/2027
For details regarding registration please visit TEQSA.


ASQA is the national regulator for Australia's vocational education and training (VET) sector. ASQA regulates courses and VET training providers to ensure nationally approved quality standards are met.

ASQA register and evaluate providers against the VET Quality Framework, which comprises:

All ASQA registered training organisations must comply with the requirements of the VET Quality Framework to meet the conditions of ongoing registration.

CDU as a registered training organisation (RTO) is listed on (TGA). TGA is the official national register of the VET sector in Australia and contains the authoritative information about Registered Training Organisations (RTOs), Nationally Recognised Training (NRT), and the approved scope of each RTOs to deliver NRT, as required in national and jurisdictional legislation within Australia. Our RTO Provider number is 0373.

Renewal of registration project

CDU’s application to renew registration as an RTO was successful, following an onsite audit by the national regulator ASQA, in September 2018. An application to renew CRICOS registration was also approved.

The audit was conducted against the Standards for Registered Training Organisations 2015 (Standards for RTOs 2015) and the National Code of Practice for Providers of Education and Training to Overseas Students 2018 (National Code).

Renewal of registration

Registration date:  21/09/2018
Registration renewal date:  20/09/2025
For details regarding registration please visit ASQA.

No additional conditions have been imposed on CDU's registration.


The Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS) provides a list of all Australian education providers that offer courses to people studying in Australia on student visas and the courses they offer. Education institutions can only enrol and deliver education services to students in Australia on a student visa if they are registered on CRICOS.

CDU is a registered CRICOS provider:

As a CRICOS registered provider of education to overseas students, CDU is required to comply with the ESOS Act 2000 and operate within the requirements of the ESOS legislative framework.

ESOS Framework

The ESOS framework consists of:

  • The Education Services for Overseas Students Act 2000 (ESOS Act) which sets out the legal framework governing the delivery of education to international students in Australia on a student visa.
  • The National Code of Practice for Registration Authorities and Providers of Education and Training to Overseas Students 2007 (National Code) which provides nationally consistent standards for the conduct of registered providers and the registration of their courses.

National Code

The National Code established under the ESOS Act (2000) is a set of nationally consistent standards that govern the protection of international students and delivery of courses to those students by a CRICOS registered provider.

The National Code is divided into four parts (A-D) with Part D outlining the Standards for registered providers for the delivery of education and training to overseas students.

For more information, please refer to the ESOS framework website.

Back to top