Skip to main content
Start of main content


University Council

The Council, comprising 15 members, is the principal governing body of the University. It is established under the Charles Darwin University Act 2003, led by the Chancellor and a Deputy Chancellor (elected by the Council members).

The Council is responsible for the governance of the University, acts in its best interest, drives performance through strategy and stewardship, provides overall strategic guidance, and oversees senior management in carrying out that strategic direction.

The University Secretary provides executive support for the Council. Any questions concerning the Council or the information on this site should be directed to


Procedures for the appointment and election of members are prescribed under the Charles Darwin University Election of Members of Council By-laws 2009 (PDF, 45.06 KB)

The Honourable Paul Henderson AO    Chancellor     1/01/2022 – 31/12/2024
Professor Scott Bowman AOVice-ChancellorEx-officio
Professor Louise KingChair Academic Board –
1/01/2022 -
Mr Ken Davies PSMDeputy Chancellor
Appointed by the NT Administrator
29/06/2022 –
Emeritus Professor Charles WebbAppointed by the NT Administrator17/02/2022 -
Mr Dick GuitAppointed by the NT Administrator27/06/2023 – 27/06/2026
Mr Craig GrahamAppointed by the NT Administrator30/07/2023 – 30/07/2026
Mr Mark MunnichAppointed by the NT Administrator26/02/2024 – 26/02/2026
VacantAppointed by the NT Administrator 
VacantAppointed by the NT Administrator 
Dr Ruth SchubertAppointed by the NT Administrator17/02/2022 –
Associate Professor Jon MasonStaff elected academic (HE)1/01/2024 – 31/12/2026
Mrs Chrissy ZelleyStaff elected academic (VET)1/01/2024 – 31/12/2026
Mr Nabin KandelMember, elected by CDU post-graduates01/01/2024 –
Mr John Bosco OndongoMember, elected by CDU undergraduates01/01/2024 –

Committees of the University Council

Council Committees report to the University Council. Council normally makes appointments to its committees at either its last ordinary meeting for the year prior or the first ordinary Council meeting, and in every alternate year after that.

Download the CDU Organisational Chart

Council Committees are listed below.

Committee name

Committee contact

Executive Committee of Council

Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee

Finance and Infrastructure Development Committee

Nominations, Honorary Awards and Legislation Committee

Back to top