Skip to main content
Start of main content

CDU Menzies Medical Program

Curriculum Working Group

clinical simulation

The CDU Menzies Medical Program Curriculum Working Group (CWG) is established to work with key stakeholders to transform the medical program curriculum purchased from Western Sydney University into the context of the Northern Territory and aligned to the new Australian Medical Council (AMC) Medical School Accreditation Standards introduced in January 2024.  

The CWG provides an opportunity for discussion, collaboration, and leadership in developing a new medical curriculum for CDU. The CWG will assist the Medical Program Course Coordinator transform the WSU medical program curriculum into an authentic NT-focused curriculum to train future medical doctors fit for the needs of the Territory and beyond. The unique aspect of the curriculum will be its NT-focus, preparing graduates who understand the health challenges faced by the NT community.  Whilst delivering a strong and quality bedrock curriculum, it will be one that is influenced throughout, by our place and our people.  

The CDU Menzies medical program will have a strong focus on a context driven place-based curriculum that recognises the importance for our community of First Nations health and wellbeing, rural generalism and provision of high quality regional and remote health services. The curriculum will embed cultural humility, First Nations health, rural and remote health practice in the program from the first year of the program.

Back to top