Skip to main content
Start of main content

CDU Menzies School of Medicine

First Nations Working Group

The CDU Menzies Medical Program First Nations Working Group is being established to assist and guide the development of a locally led and delivered medical program in the Northern Territory.

The curriculum will be designed through extensive discussions and consultation with all relevant stakeholders, with the ultimate goal of inspiring and supporting First Nations students to study medicine in the NT.

The group will:

  • provide collaborative advice and leadership in developing a framework that supports successful recruitment, transition and progress of First Nations students through the medical program;
  • encourage the recruitment of First Nations academics to deliver the program; and
  • provide advice on embedding First Nations knowledge and cultural safety into the curriculum.


A/Prof Heidi Smith-Vaughan | Menzies School of Health Research

Dr Sean Taylor | Menzies School of Health Research

Dr Jeremy Chin | NT Health

Paul Gibson |  Indigenous Allied Health Australia

Dr Kane Vellar | NT Government

Keona Wilson |Indigenous Allied Health Australia

A/Prof Kylie Stothers | Indigenous Allied Health Australia

Lissa Hodgson | University of New England

Mark Mayo | Menzies School of Health Research

Michael Johnston | Menzies School of Health Research

CDU members

Professor Di Stephens OAM | CDU Menzies Medical Program

Dr Sufyan Akram | CDU Menzies Medical Program

Ian Lee | CDU Menzies Medical Program

Bilawara Lee | First Nation Leadership and Engagement

Reuben Bolt | First Nations Leadership

Back to top