Skip to main content
Start of main content

Faculty of Arts and Society

The Priestley 11

The Bachelor of Laws is accredited by the Legal Practitioners Admission Board of the Northern Territory and provides the academic foundation for admission to legal practice in the Northern Territory and elsewhere in Australia. Students must successfully complete the recognised “Priestley 11” subjects that are “prescribed areas of knowledge” required to be eligible to apply for admission to the legal profession. 

The compulsory “Priestley 11” areas of law are met through the successful completion of the following units in the Bachelor of Laws at CDU:

“Priestley 11” Requirements 

CDU Units

Criminal law and procedure

LWZ114 Criminal Law

The law of torts

LWZ116 Torts


LWZ118 Contracts

Constitutional law of the Commonwealth and the Territory, a State or the Northern Territory

LWZ204 Constitutional Law

Equity, including trusts

LWZ210 Equity

LWZ211 Trusts

The law relating to property, both real and personal

LWZ223 Property Law

Administrative law

LWZ304 Administrative Law

Company law

LWZ315 Corporations Law


LWZ316 Evidence

Civil procedure

LWZ317 Civil Procedure

Ethics and Professional Responsibility

LWZ320 Professional Responsibility

Back to top